Lightroom FAQs

Delegates on my Lightroom courses often keep asking certain questions about certain specific features in Lightroom.

So I thought I would put together a set of most common questions and give you answers.

1) How does Lightroom handle edits I make to images?

Everything you do in Lightroom is non-destructive. Any edits you make to images don’t alter original images, they’re stored in metadata. Your images always stay unchanged.

2) How do I save changes to my images?

As you work on your images all your changes are saved automatically in the catalogue. No need to save.

3) Why do some of my images have question marks?

It seems like Lightroom can’t find certain images. You may have moved them or deleted them.

4) How can I add a copyright symbol in Lightroom’s Library Module when adding copyright information to my images?

On Windows press Alt and 0169 on numeric keypad

On Mac press Alt G

5) Where is my catalogue stored?

By default, Lightroom will store your catalogue in your Pictures folder

6) Can I store my catalogue on a network?

No, you can’t.

7) Can I store my images on a network?

Yes, you can. And you can use Smart Previews to work on them even when disconnected from the network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*